Checking in the Data Dictionary
This operation lets you check in a Data Dictionary when you are done working with it. The Repository will attempt to merge all of your modifications into the Repository. If there are any conflicts during the merge process, you are prompted to resolve them. After you have resolved all conflicts and the merge is complete, the merged results are added to the Repository and your diagram. The merged results are added to your Data Dictionary so that it remains in sync with what is in the Repository.
When you check in a data dictionary, it is possible that the Repository server will create new versions of objects that were bound to individual data dictionary objects. For example, if a user checks in a data dictionary after deleting a user datatype, and the user datatype was bound to an attribute, the server will create a new version of the attribute that does not contain the binding. This is because deleting a data dictionary object causes all bindings to it to be removed. The new version is reflected in the Version History for the attribute, with an automatically generated comment. When you do a Get Latest Version on the affected attribute, the new version without the binding is placed in your copy of the diagram. If you modify or delete the affected attribute before checking in the Data Dictionary, then a merge conflict will appear between your version of the attribute and the version of the attribute created by the Repository server. Select the ER/Studio Data Architect version of the attribute to keep your changes.
This behavior can also occur when you check in a data dictionary with a modified data dictionary object. For example, say you change the data type of an attachment, then check in the data dictionary to which it belongs. Any objects bound to that attachment must have the value override removed because the value override is only valid for a particular attachment data type. This means that the objects (which can be in the data dictionary or the diagram) that are bound to that attachment get a new version in the Repository that reflects the removal of the object's value override.
On the Data Model Explorer, click the Data Dictionary tab and then click the target data dictionary object.
Note: If you made changes to the Data Dictionary, you need to check in the Data Dictionary before checking in the diagram. For example, if you create a domain in the Data Dictionary and use that domain in the diagram, if you check in the diagram before the Data Dictionary, ER/Studio Data Architect produces errors.
- The Repository does not support the check in of individual data dictionary objects. You can only check in the entire Data Dictionary.
- If your version of the diagram is in conflict with the Repository's version of the diagram, the Merge Conflict Resolution dialog box opens. For more information about merge conflicts and their resolution, see Branching and Merging Diagrams.
- If you made changes to the Data Dictionary, you need to check in the Data Dictionary before checking in the diagram. For example, if you create a domain in the Data Dictionary and use that domain in the diagram, if you check in the diagram before the Data Dictionary, ER/Studio Data Architect produces errors.