Saving and Using Quick Launch Settings

From ER/Studio Data Architect
Jump to: navigation, search

Go Up to Using ER/Studio Data Architect

To improve efficiency when performing repetitive tasks, Quick Launch lets you save settings and selections for select ER/Studio Data Architect wizards and utilities for later reuse. You can save settings in separate files for each of the following wizards and utilities.

  • Compare and Merge
  • DDL Generation
  • Model Validation
  • Naming Standards
  • Reports, Reverse Engineering
  • Reverse Engineering
  • Submodel Synchronization
  • XML Schema Generation

This section is comprised of the following topics:

Save Quick Launch Settings to a File

  1. On the last page of the wizard or utility, deselect Use file-based Quick Launch settings.
  2. Click Save As.
  3. Enter a name for the quick launch settings file.
  4. Click OK.

Use Quick Launch Settings from a File

  1. Select Use file-based Quick Launch settings.
  2. Click Load File.
  3. Navigate to and then double-click the desired Quick Launch settings file.

The Quick Launch file extensions are:

  • CMO for Compare and Merge
  • DDO for DDL Generation
  • MVO for Model Validation
  • NSO for Naming Standards
  • RPO for ER/Studio Data Architect Report
  • RVO for Reverse Engineering
  • SSO for Submodel Synchronization
  • XQO for XML Schema Generation

By default, these files are stored in the XML subdirectory of the ER/Studio Data Architect application data directory; the default directory is C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\IDERA\ERStudio\XML . You can change it in Tools > Options > Directories > Quick Launch.

  • Select Settings and Objects if you want to use the saved selection or Settings Only to use the default selections.
  • Click Go!

Rename Quick Launch Settings File

  1. On the last page of the wizard or utility, deselect Use file-based Quick Launch settings.
  2. Select a quick launch setting file from the list.
  3. Click Rename.
  4. Enter a new name for the quick launch settings file.
  5. Click OK.

Delete Quick Launch Settings

  1. On the last page of the wizard or utility, deselect Use file-based Quick Launch settings.
  2. Select a quick launch setting file from the list.
  3. Click Delete.

See Also

Personal tools
Product Videos